Panic’s Blah Blah: Naniwa Danshi’s Joichiro Fujiwara Appears in Supernatural Drama “Pending Train”

Joichiro Fujiwara of Naniwa Danshi as Daichi Yonezawa on “Pending Train.” Photo provided by Johnny & Associates

Joichiro Fujiwara from JPOP idol group Naniwa Danshi appears in the sci-fi supernatural mystery drama “Pending Train,” now streaming worldwide on Netflix!

The program’s about a group of people on a train, ready to start a regular day, like every day, until a derailment sends them into a post-apocalyptic future. It’s up to them to band together, survive, and try to find a way home.

Streaming now on Netflix, the series originally aired on TBS in Japan from April 21 – June 23, 2023.

Message from Joichiro Fujiwara:

I really couldn’t believe it when I heard that this drama was going to be available worldwide! When I took a vacation to Australia a while back I tried to get everyone hooked on Naniwa Danshi by showing them our videos on YouTube, so I’ll have to save this show’s Netflix watch page to have one more thing for next time.

Although I certainly hope to never experience the sci-fi terror of the story in real life, I’d like to think that? if I did? my character would be a fairly accurate representation of the kind of person I’d be. Bright, cheerful, and trying to keep everyone’s spirits up as the smarter ones figure out what to do; that’s the job for me! But seriously, it was such a privilege working with the other actors and I feel really confident that overseas Netflix viewers are going to enjoy all the show’s twists and turns!